Choi Kyung-seon wins Daegu Marathon domestic women’s division… Personal best of 2 hours 28 minutes 49 seconds

 ‘Dragon Marathoner’ Choi Kyung-seon (Jecheon City Hall) broke her personal best record in 4 years and rose to the top of the domestic women’s division of the 2023 Daegu Marathon.

On the 2nd, Choi Gyeong-sun departed Daegu National Debt Redemption Memorial Park and ran the 42.195 km full course in downtown Daegu in 2 hours 28 minutes 49 seconds.

She was ranked first in the domestic division and fifth in the overall standings including the international division. 메이저사이트

Ayantu Abre Dimise (Ethiopia) won the international championship with a time of 2 hours 25 minutes and 44 seconds, and Medina Deme Almino (Ethiopia) came second with a time of 2 hours 27 minutes and 27 seconds.

Janet Ruguru Gichumbi (Kenya, 2 hours 28 minutes 13 seconds) and Chaltu Shuna Kekabo (Ethiopia, 2 hours 28 minutes 46 seconds) also finished the race before Choi Kyung-sun.

The second place in the domestic division (11th overall) was Jeong Hyeon-ji (Nonsan City Hall) with a time of 2 hours 38 minutes 03 seconds.

Choi Kyung-seon pulled 17 seconds off her previous personal best of 2:29:06, set at the Daegu Marathon in April 2019.

The time of 2 hours 28 minutes 49 seconds written by Choi Kyung-seon on this day is the 11th place in Korean women’s marathon history and the 8th place in terms of runners.

The World Association of Athletics Federations and the Korea Association of Athletics Federations manage the ‘overall record’ and the ‘athlete standard record’ separately.

Korean record holder Kim Do-yeon (Samsung Electronics, 2 hours 25 minutes 41 seconds) holds the 1st and 6th places, Kim Sung-eun (Anyang City Hall) holds the 4th and 9th places, and Ahn Seul-gi (Samsung Electronics) holds the 5th and 8th places.

It remains to be seen whether the representatives of the Hangzhou Asian Games, which will open on September 23 this year, will be selected.

The Korea Association of Athletics Federations selects two male and female representatives for the Asian Games in Hangzhou by examining the records of domestic and international marathons held between January and April of this year.

At the Seoul Marathon held on March 19, Jung Da-eun (K-water) set the best record in the ‘Hangzhou Asian Games evaluation period’ with 2 hours 28 minutes 32 seconds.

Choi Kyung-seon came in second, 17 seconds behind Jeong Da-eun.

If no female marathon runner surpasses Choi Kyung-seon’s record at competitions held in April, such as the 2023 Gunsan Saemangeum Marathon, Jeong Da-eun and Choi Kyung-sun are expected to be selected as representatives of the Hangzhou Asian Games.

Choi Kyung-seon is a bronze medalist at the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta and Palembang. However, it did not make it to the podium.

At the Asian Games at the time, Kim Hye-seong (North Korea) finished the race in 2 hours 37 minutes and 20 seconds and rose to third place. Her fourth place was Choi Kyung-seon, who clocked 2 hours, 37 minutes and 49 seconds.

However, Kim Hye-sung was suspended for taking a banned substance and her record was deleted, and Choi Kyung-sun moved up to third place.

In addition to this, Choi Kyung-seon had many ‘unfortunate moments’.

At the 2017 World Championships in Athletics in London, he tripped on Kim Hye-sung’s feet at the 35 km mark and fell. Her teeth are broken and her lips are cracked.

However, Choi Kyung-seon hurriedly stopped the bleeding and ran again. Her time was not good at 2 hours 45 minutes 46 seconds, but she achieved her minimum goal of finishing.

At the 2021 Tokyo Olympics, she also suffered an injury ahead of the event, and during her race she collapsed due to a muscle spasm, but got back up and finished.

Last year, he virtually secured the right to participate in the Hangzhou Asian Games, but as the tournament was postponed for a year, Choi Kyung-seon, who stood at the starting line again, broke through the barrier in 2 hours and 29 minutes, raising the possibility of participating in the Asian Games.

In the men’s international division, Milkisa Mungsha Tolosa (Ethiopia) won with a time of 2:06:49.

Second place was Stanley Bet Kiprotic (Kenya) who ran in 2:07:00.

Jeon Jae-won (Samsung Electronics) recorded 2 hours 18 minutes 50 seconds, beating Yang Seung-won (Goyang City Hall) who recorded 2 hours 19 minutes 25 seconds and took first place in the men’s division in Korea.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *